Skip to content

I Write a Letter to God…

June 7, 2011

Dear God,

I know you can hear me when I speak, when I think, when I hum little songs of praise in my head.  I know you carry around my worries in your pocket, so there is no need for this note.  But some prayers feel like they need to be more official than others, you know?  Of course you do, you know me, and you know my innate need to put things in writing.  We’ll consider this one of our more formal conversations.

Tomorrow my dad is having surgery.  Nothing major, nothing life altering, and certainly nothing to get dramatic about.  I know all will be fine and this procedure isn’t out of the ordinary.  But here’s the thing – I really like my father.  A lot.  I know you are his biggest fan and everything, but I’d like to think I’m a pretty peppy member of his cheerleading squad.  I like my dad just the way he is.  I like him whole, intact, stubbornly self-assured and ridiculously weird.  I like his dry sense of humor, his unabashed willingness to make a fool of himself, and the way he listens to me.  I like his advice, the way he thinks logically before he talks (so unlike me), and the way he holds back his best laughs for times when something is really funny.  I like my dad and our family and our life and our security and I really don’t like it when things get shaken up.  I feel uncomfortable.  I feel a little scared.

So if you could look out for him tomorrow, that would be great.  If you could hold his hand in a way that he feels it, that would be nice too.  I know he’s brave.  I know he’s not worried.  I know that when he reads this he’ll tell me I’m silly.  I know he doesn’t need a hand-holding.  But maybe you could convince him to let you hold his hand on account of me?  Maybe you could force him to intertwine his fingers with yours because I can’t be there to do that with him.  And I want to be, God, I really do.  So maybe just this once, you could take my place in the hand-holding department.  And maybe just this once he’d let you.  I think I’d feel better then.  Maybe he would too.

Thanks for reading my letter, God.  Thanks for listening.  I just wanted you to have this with you tomorrow in case you need a reminder of the petitions at your request.  Care for the poor.  Check.  Bring hope to the desolate.  Check.  Bring peace to the nations.  Working on it.  Protect and heal L’s dad – with some brief hand-holding.  Checkity-check.  I wanted my words to be there, you know, just in case.

I love you, God.  I’m thankful everyday that you loved me first, and kept loving everyday since.

L

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 5:44 pm

    What a beautiful post. I’m practically bawling over here…Your dad should be so proud of his precious daughter and the obvious love for him and our God. Ironically, my niece Jessica is having surgery tomorrow too…So I’ll pray for your dad, and if you could say a little prayer for Jess, that would be great. You’re a beautiful writer. Thanks for sharing this!

    • June 7, 2011 6:34 pm

      Thanks, Kerri! I will be praying for Jess as you pray for my dad – I am humbled by your willingness to lift him up tomorrow. May they both be protected.

  2. Dee permalink
    June 26, 2011 2:19 am

    So beautiful. I am writing a letter to God as well. I am more of a writer than a “sayer” so I guess this post just speaks to me at such a high volume. I hope your dad did good!

  3. Ambi permalink
    July 5, 2011 11:58 am

    thank you god

Leave a Reply

