Skip to content

…and God Writes Me Back

June 9, 2011

(See my initial letter to God that kicked off our conversation).

Dear Child,

Thanks for your letter.  I received it before you wrote it.  That is the great thing about knowing your heart and hearing your prayers – I get prayer-mail before it is sent.  My turn around time is impeccable.

In response to your request, I am pleased to report that I am with you always.  I am with your dad always.  And your mom and your sister and your brother and your husband and your friends and people you have never met and never known.  I am with them all, in equal measure.  Do not forget this promise or its power.  In times of worry, one might find it helpful to remember that the God who names their days is the God who sits beside them.  And yes, it is also this God who does the hand-holding.  I did that.  You knew I would.

And Child, the next time you feel worried or insecure in your world, may I direct you to Saint Denise’s poem?  My goodness, she is quite the poet.  Maybe one day in the future I’ll let her paint the sky with her words.  Please read below:

“Primary Wonder”

Days pass when I forget the mystery.
Problems insoluble and problems offering
their own ignored solutions
jostle for my attention, they crowd its antechamber
along with a host of diversions, my courtiers, wearing
their colored clothes; cap and bells.
And then
once more the quiet mystery
is present to me, the throng’s clamor
recedes: the mystery
that there is anything, anything at all,
let alone cosmos, joy, memory, everything,
rather than void: and that, O Lord,
Creator, Hallowed One, You still,
hour by hour sustain it.

~ Denise Levertov ~
(Selected Poems)

Love to you always,

God

Ps – I saw the way you yelled at the man while driving today.  You are forgiven, but let’s consider road rage the next spiritual discipline you and I work on.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

