Skip to content

I Carry You With Me (Home)

June 18, 2011

It’s Friday (okay, well, Saturday), and Lisa-Jo, The Gypsy Mama, has challenged the brave to write for 5 minutes without stopping.  Or editing.  This week’s topic: home.  And here we go in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1…

Go.

I remember a snowy day in Colorado when I got off the bus after school.  It dropped us off at the top of our block and my house was about halfway down the street.  The snow was thick and my little boots stuck as I ran home.  Rather, as I raced home. Even in the snow, my friends and I would race down the street, backpacks flapping against our backs, and see who was the first one to reach their front door.

I raced home wanting to win but also because I knew there would be something at the other end.  I knew, on a snowy day like today, that I’d walk through the door, pass the laundry room on the left, and see my mom in the kitchen.  There would be cookies.  Or better yet, what is still ingrained in my memory, is the smell of the cookies.  Of firewood crackling.  Of my mom’s hair.  Of comfort, of warmth, of love.  They weren’t even words I knew yet, but felt.  I still feel them.

Sometimes I can still smell glimpses of home.  I smell it on the old New England sidewalks I run on in the afternoons.  I smell fireplaces and grills going, and I am instantly back in that place.  That place where love gathers like a 6th member of our family.  That place where “come just as you are” doesn’t need to be spoken – it is just understood.  I can be instantly transported to that place – that place where I no longer live, but still carry with me.  It’s like what ee cummings once wrote, “i carry you with me.  i carry your heart in my heart.”

Stop.

Join in the fun with us!  The Gypsy Mama’s 5 Minute Friday

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 3:22 pm

    One of the most beautiful pieces I’ve read this week. Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. June 18, 2011 4:28 pm

    Thanks, Lisa-Jo! I’m so honored you stopped by!

  3. Jess permalink
    June 18, 2011 5:41 pm

    LOVE this.

  4. Suzy permalink
    June 18, 2011 6:34 pm

    I love the picture you paint of home…I can close my eyes and smell the cookies and feel the warmth.

  5. June 18, 2011 9:36 pm

    This was so rich. Full of beauty and warmth. I felt like I was there. Beautiful! Bless you, and thank you for this.

    • June 19, 2011 6:44 pm

      Thank you, Kris. Your comments and visits mean so much!

  6. June 19, 2011 8:17 pm

    Lovely, lovely. Thanks so much!

  7. June 19, 2011 11:22 pm

    What a lovely, warm memory you carry in your heart!

Leave a Reply

