Skip to content

I See Her Smiling (Wonder)

June 24, 2011

It’s Friday, and Lisa-Jo, The Gypsy Mama, has challenged the brave to write for 5 minutes without stopping.  Or editing.  This week’s topic: wonder.  And here we go in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1…

Go.

I give a small speech about what working with this young teen has meant to me this year.  I give a small speech about her heart, her talent, her passion, her confidence.  I give a small speech with words that aren’t ever going to be enough for the joy it has been to watch this young woman grow, to watch her love herself, to watch her shine.  I say her name at the end of my speech and I watch the realization wash over her face.  It is her I {have} been speaking about.

And there it is.  Her shock and her face and her smile and her surprise and that knowing look she gives me that speaks a silent “thank you.”  I am speechless.  I am in awe of this moment.  This small gift to this lovely young girl who has taught me as much as I have taught her.  She turns around to her friends, beaming, a little unsure of this moment of praise.  She walks down the steps of the auditorium, almost delirious, and wraps me in her arms.  She is to the point of tears and so am I, and she just barely gets out the words.  Barely gets out her gratitude.  I can barely give my own.

She goes back up in the seats and I continue to wonder and marvel about the responsibility I’ve been given.  About the joy and the pain and the love and the care and all the worry and heart that goes into working with kids.  I hope and I pray that I am there and can influence some, and today I see the work of God’s spirit as it moves confidently through the smile of this beautiful young woman who has blossomed before my eyes.  I see her with her friends in the seats and she is glowing.  Just glowing.

I wonder how I was given this work.  I wonder why I was trusted.  But I look at my young friend, and she looks at me, and in that moment the wondering is gone.  She is why I’m here.  This is it.

Stop.

Words in {parentheses} added after my 5 minutes (I couldn’t help it!)

Got 5 minutes to write, uninhibitedly, today?  Join in with us – The Gypsy Mama’s 5 Minute Friday!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 10:34 am

    I apologize if my comment is on here twice. It doesn’t seem to have posted my first one. Anyway, this was a beautiful post. It brought tears to my eyes. What a lovely moment captured by lovely words. I bet that young woman will remember it for the rest of her life.

  2. June 24, 2011 10:41 am

    I loved your writing. My brother is a teacher and a mentor.. and I come from a long line of teachers and professors… I have heard them talk about this impact and how it never leaves them and to this day my 80 year old grandfather still hears back from his students.
    Tee

  3. June 24, 2011 11:48 am

    This is so many kinds of beautiful, Lauren. It’s the beautiful story – being taught and teaching. It’s the beautiful words – how do you do it? And it’s how I read your words and I can hear you speak them and they are beautiful because they’re yours. Thank you, friend. So very much.

  4. June 24, 2011 1:26 pm

    You are wonderful, LK. Thanks for the sincere and eloquent reminder that this is why we do what we do. It couldn’t have been more timely.

  5. June 24, 2011 5:31 pm

    This is beautiful. Beautifully written, as well as a heart-wrenching beautiful story.

  6. Courtney permalink
    June 24, 2011 6:29 pm

    Wasn’t that amazing Lauren??? I swear the five minutes every year that we get to do that every year might be the best five minutes of the year. I realize how much I truly love the students when I know I won’t be seeing them for two more months.

  7. June 24, 2011 8:12 pm

    Wow. What a tremendous teacher you must be! This was beautiful. You are surely a blessing to all you teach. Blessings to you, friend, thank you for sharing your heart with this student, with probably many students, and with us~

  8. June 25, 2011 12:52 am

    This – this is simply gorgeous. Thank you for loving that girl like that and thank you for writing about so exquisitely here. Just thank you!

Leave a Reply

