Skip to content

Curtains Don’t Need to be Hung on a Friday Night

July 29, 2011

And Friday has come once again.  Time to blog away with Lisa-Jo at the Gypsy Mama, who is making a cameo appearance at (in)Courage this week.  Feel free to join us in 5 minutes of pure writing splendor – no editing, critiquing, or drafting required.  Just write.  That’s all you’ve got to do.  Our prompt: still.

Go.

I’m not good at coming back from vacation gracefully.  I leave my peaceful solitude on the jetway of the place I left and walk through the airport of my home city with my mental to-do list already in place.  It feels like I am coming back to work sometimes, even if I still  have a few days to myself.  I dread the laundry I can envision, the grocery store runs needing to be made, and the “deep” cleaning I see myself completing.  I come back from vacations with a vengeance.

This time I also came back from my vacation with curtains.  And curtain rods.  I had my husband’s attention when I showed him the first night I got home.  They were pretty, and he liked them.  He liked them on a Wednesday, when they were still in their packaging and, therefore, non-threatening to his relaxing evenings at home.  Too bad for him that it was I who stepped off the plane on Wednesday evening.  Too bad now, on Friday night, I greet him with screwdriver, wall anchors, and rods all perfectly laid out awaiting his arrival.  Too bad I am unleashing all my pent-up vacation relaxation and unloading it on him with a fun, curtain-hanging “honey-do” list.  I read between the lines of his reaction.  Enthusiasm was minimal.

Truth be told, curtains do not need to be hung on a Friday night. They can wait until Saturday or Sunday, when normal weekend warriors tackle their home improvement  projects.  They can wait until next week even, or the one after that, whenever the poor hard-working guy gets a chance to help me.  The curtains can wait.  I can wait.  I can not be in such a rush to return to the chaos once I arrive back from vacation.  I can be calm.  I can be tame. I can be still if I really, really try.

Stop.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2011 10:47 pm

    oh my word! I’ve been bugging my hubby to hang the baby valance, lol

    http://ordinaryinspirations.blogspot.com/2011/07/five-minute-friday-still.html

  2. July 30, 2011 12:47 am

    Lauren – your writing always amazes and inspires and fills me up, and this funny story is no exception. I could read your writing all day. I’m so glad that you write, and that you share that with us.

  3. July 30, 2011 11:22 am

    I really enjoyed reading this!

    How true that is that things don’t have to always be done right when we are so set on having them done.

    Have a blessed day!

    -Sarah

Leave a Reply

