Skip to content

To My Niece or Nephew #1

November 4, 2011
tags:

Excerpt from “For a New Beginning”

In out-of-the-way places of the heart,

Where your thoughts never think to wander,

This beginning has been quietly forming,

Waiting until you were ready to emerge.

~John O’Donohue~

(To Bless the Space Between Us)

In May 2012, my first niece or nephew will be born.  I have been writing letters to Baby.

10.4.11

Dear Baby,

I saw your picture for the first time today. Your mommy texted it to me, and so the first time I saw you was in the middle of my work day. It’s a good thing there weren’t any middle schoolers around because no teacher ever recovers from their students seeing them cry. And I cried.  For a while.

Your picture was a tiny little thing on a tiny little ultrasound that looked even smaller on my very tiny phone screen. You are a gray blur on an ultrasound screen, and it’s amazing what such a small little shape can do to the human heart. Mine is melting. I cry every time I look at your picture because I’m so overwhelmed that you’re going to be in my life. I did not know that you were missing until I realized you were going to be here. Your picture made that even more real for me, Baby. I can’t really imagine what your mommy and daddy were feeling today.

I’m sure right now you don’t have ears. You don’t hear sound or music or noises. And even if you did, you would probably just hear the sound of sloshing water from inside your momma’s belly. But just in case, just in case you can hear me, Baby, I wanted to tell you something special. Lean in close and focus really hard. Are you ready? Are you listening? I Love You. All the way across distance and states and plains and mountains – I love you. With goose-bumps and tears and hands stretched wide to tuck your fingers into mine – I love you.  Keep that with you and hold onto it while you grow. Let it wrap around you and keep you warm.  There will be more to give when you’re here.

Your uncle has a soccer game tonight. I hope you are cheering. I think you will grow up to like soccer.  And if I have anything to say about it, I think you’ll like poems too.

I love you, Baby.  I’m already praying for you.

Love,

Auntie L


2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 6:04 pm

    Blessed baby, to have you for an aunt, Lauren. Aunts are such special, important people. And nieces and nephews are such gifts in our lives. Enjoy. :>)

  2. mom permalink
    November 4, 2011 9:59 pm

    and now i am crying too!

Leave a Reply

