Skip to content

Every Day I’ll Marry You

November 10, 2011
tags:

I’m sitting at my desk talking to a young woman about a boy she really likes.  She giggles and lifts her shoulder up toward her ears in embarrassment.  A little splotch of pink spreads out over her cheeks and I can tell she’s lost in this moment of nerves and anticipation and joy.  It’s precious to her, this crush she has, and I’m listening to her tell me about the boy like he’s a secret no one knows about.  He’s a secret that’s been kept hidden and she’s the first one to notice, the first one to realize how special he is.  And that’s the way it is with first crushes – it’s as if they’re all yours.

She finally lets the heat fade from her face.  She looks at me and asks,

“why did you marry your husband?”

Oh.  Oh my, I think.  Why did I marry my husband?  There are ten thousand things and only one thing that come to mind at the same time.  There are a dozen reasons and yet only one.  Only one that really stands out, that brought me through a difficult first year of change, and into the wonderful calm of the second year.  There is one singular, precious truth that I continue to re-learn.  Why did I marry my husband?

Because I wanted to marry him every day.

When I come home from work and am grumpy and tired and feeling non-communicative – I’ll marry you.

When you forget to make the coffee in the morning like you said you would – I’ll marry you.

When you make me laugh just by giving me a look that only we know – I’ll marry you.

When you sit and listen to me talk about people and events you aren’t personally connected with – I’ll marry you.

When you have to try and work hard to articulate your own thoughts – I’ll marry you.

When you give me patience and grace when I really don’t deserve it – I’ll marry you.

When you forget to ask me the really important questions – I’ll marry you.

When you don’t think buying a rug is all that important in making our bedroom cozy – I’ll marry you.

When you make me stay on the east coast longer than I would like – I’ll marry you.

When you play your violin in the living room – I’ll marry you.

When you tell me I’m pretty and I feel embarrassed – I’ll marry you.

When you drive my car and the loss of control makes me feel really anxious – I’ll marry you.

When you remind me I’m smarter than I give myself credit for – I’ll marry you.

When you never forget to say you love me before I go to bed at night – I’ll marry you.

For this day, and for every day, I will learn and re-learn that love is a commitment, that love is a choice, that love reaches out and holds the hand of Grace in more ways than I ever thought possible.  Every day I will come to understand, even more, that the grass is only greener for those who don’t celebrate the amazing grass they’ve got.  No one spends time staring over the fence when their side has it all.  We love the one we’re with – it’s as simple as that.

Every day I’ll marry you.

I’ll say yes every time.

This day and every day, I choose you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 5:40 pm

    This was a perfect way to articulate a marriage. It is love, sure, but more than love it is choosing your spouse everyday. Thanks for sharing. I can’t wait for Chris to come home so I can keep marrying him everyday.

  2. mom permalink
    November 10, 2011 5:43 pm

    makes my heart melt

  3. Jess permalink
    November 10, 2011 9:11 pm

    This is awesome, LP! You have a way of putting the true things of the heart into words. Thanks.

  4. November 11, 2011 10:13 pm

    Amen – so beautifully said. Thank you.

  5. December 31, 2011 3:33 pm

    Wow. This is a beautiful description of what I hope my own marriage will one day be like. Thank you for the reminder that love is a commitment every day.

Trackbacks

  1. Learning. | Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

