Skip to content

I’m Learning About Miracles

March 2, 2012

My dear friend gave birth to her sweet baby girl last night. Baby Madison arrived ten weeks earlier than expected. I decided she needed a letter.

Dear Madison,

I prayed for you last night. I prayed for you the night before that. I started praying for you from the moment I was sitting around a table of friends, and your Mama told me you were growing inside of her. I remember tears in that moment. I remember uncontrollable tears and excitement and expectation. I remember overwhelming love, the instantaneous, all-consuming kind, that grabs hold of the most precious parts of the heart and doesn’t let go. I remember your Mama’s face. I remember her smile and her freckles and her laughter. You were coming, little one. And she was beside herself.

I prayed for you today, sweet baby girl. I looked at your pictures and I cried and I prayed and I spoke blessings over you.

You are a miracle.

You are a 10-fingers and 10-toes miracle.

You are a blonde hair, eyes closed, sound asleep little miracle.

You are the adoration of your parents.

You are the adoration of your God.

You are a miracle.

Over the last few days, I’ve imagined myself in the hospital with your parents. You live really far away and, even though I couldn’t be there, I imagined myself sitting with them. I paced in the lobby with your daddy. I sang hymns and prayed with your mama. I brushed the hair off of her face and held her hand, and sat in the anticipation and angst of your arrival.

Did you feel us standing there? Did you feel us waiting for you? Could you feel, precious baby, the prayers as God continued to knit you together? Could you feel the love and the care and the hope and the joy? Can you feel it now? Is it keeping  you warm? Wrapped up in the blankets and the booties and the sounds of the machines, can you feel us surrounding you now?

10 fingers and 10 toes.

Soft little baby sounds.

A heart that beats and gives life.

A chest that rises and falls.

A life that is meant to be like no other.

You are a miracle, baby Madison.

Welcome to our world.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 6:02 pm

    Amazing! Made me cry 🙂 I am soooo happy and relieved for Jess, Barrett, and little Madison! A miracle indeed!

  2. Sam permalink
    March 2, 2012 7:38 pm

    I love the way that you see the world and share it through words!!! Thank you for writing what many of us are feeling right now! Miss you friend!

  3. March 2, 2012 9:51 pm

    Lovely, lovely. Been missing you in my inbox. Hope all is well…

  4. March 4, 2012 2:56 am

    This is stunning. It is a brilliant idea and it will always be a captivating memory. When Maddie is twenty years old she will still treasure this. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

