Skip to content

Because the World is Still Good

July 26, 2012

Dear Baby Boy,

There’s been a lot of hard things happening in the world lately, particularly in Mommy’s home state. Sometimes people want to hurt other people. Sometimes governments in countries don’t take care of their people. Sometimes Christians say cruel things about people groups they don’t understand. Sometimes the world is a hard place to be, and I often wonder how we’ll navigate it all with grace and understanding.

But here’s the thing, sweet boy. Here’s the thing I want you to know, and to never forget.

The world is beautiful.

The world is full of good things. The world is full of lovely, life-giving things, and good people and happiness and joy. There are more smiles than tears, more good moments than bad, more hugs than acts of violence. There are strangers who will undoubtedly stop and look at you in your stroller. They will wish us well and tell us how sweet you are and want to shower you with love – without even knowing you. There are people who will give you their seat on a bus, ask you if you are hurt when you cry, and offer to carry Mommy’s suitcases the first time she travels with you alone.

The world is beautiful.

In a moment of confession, you should know that your mom is a natural pessimist. It’s true, buddy, I’m a glass half-empty kind of gal. I know this about myself, and despite this knowing, I am still a hopeless optimist for the good in people and the joy in this little corner of the galaxy. Even on the days when I feel like I don’t have anything nice to say about anyone, or anything, I know deep down that this is a good life. We’ve been given good things. God made a good plan when he decided to send us all here.

I hope you always notice beauty. I hope you see it on faces, feel it in the tickle of grass, see it the first time you glimpse the Rockies, and hear it when the church choir belts “Come Thou Fount.” I hope you believe in goodness because you’ve experienced goodness. I hope you give because of all that you have received. I hope you love because he first loved all of us. And I hope you never withhold that love from anyone you might meet.

I’m not afraid to bring you into this world.

I know it’s broken and cracking.

But I also know it’s beautiful.

It’s a beauty that’s worth fighting for.

I love you to the moon,

Mom

“We are the Guardians of His Beauty”

We are the guardians of His Beauty.

We are the protectors
Of the Sun.

There is only one reason
We have followed God into this world:

To encourage laughter, freedom, dance
And love.

Let a noble cry inside of you speak to me
Saying,

“Hafiz,
Don’t just sit there on the moon tonight
Doing nothing  –

Help unfurl my heart into the Friend’s Mind,
Help, Old Man, to heal my wounded wings!”

We are the companions of His Beauty
We are the guardians
Of Truth.

Every man, plant and creature in Existence,
Every woman, child, vein and note
Is a servant of our Beloved –

A harbinger of joy,
The harbinger of
Light.

~ Hafiz ~

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

